The Perks of Having a Faculty Mentor

There are many benefits to having a faculty mentor but I think at first I had a lot of difficulty with trying to figure out how I could give back. Dennis helps me daily by introducing me to new people and surrounding me with a network of professionals that can help me with my research project but this caused me to to worry about how I would be able to repay him. But recently, as my project began to show results, I realized that is how I give back. Following through with my research is the best thing I can do to show him that I appreciate all of his help. And although it is fun and interesting going off to meet new people that Dennis has introduced me to, my favorite times are still the weekly meetings because I always feel as if I walk away with a bit of wisdom. He always has a new story to share or advice to provide me with and those stories and advice mean more to me than he will ever know!

FINALLY MY TIMELINE IS BACK ON TRACK. Monday, February 22 my survey will go out to the student body. I am very excited to see what results I will be getting.

Summer is coming up closer than I thought…so I have not given it much thought. I would really enjoy doing an internship. Ideally, going overseas but if not I might consider doing one at a company in Sycamore just to get some experience in the actual business world. Other than that, I have no set plans!

 

Leave a Reply

